Day in the Life of a Division III Cross Country Athlete

Here is what a typical Monday/Wednesday was like for me last semester while I ran cross country.


7:40 Wake up.  It was really nice to get up at this time rather than in high school when I had to wake up around 5:45am.

7:40-8:40 Get ready/Eat breakfast

I pre-make buckwheat pancakes/waffles on the weekend at home and warm them up in the microwave at school—they are delicious! I add peanut butter, banana slices, and apple sauce to them.

 

8:40-9:10 Do homework before class

I usually had a little bit of time to do some homework or review before my first class.

 

9:20-10:30 Class

I had my freshmen cultural seminar during this time. My class focused on culture and sustainability.

 

10:40-11:00 Homework

I try to do some extra homework before lunch, sometimes I would go to the library.

 

11:00-11:40 Lunch

For lunch l usually have grilled chicken or egg whites with whole wheat pasta or brown rice and veggies. I always add roasted red pepper hummus and spices to my food.  I also have a glass of almond milk.

 

12:00-2:30 Class

I had Intro to Exercise Science and Anatomy during this time.

 

2:30-3:30 Homework/Snack

I tried to get some homework/studying done before practice.  I always have a snack before practice too!  Usually I would have either an ezekiel english muffin with peanut butter or a larabar.

 

3:30 Get ready for practice

 

4:00-4:15 Active warm up

This consisted of running two laps around the track and doing different drills like high knees and butt kicks.

4:15- 5:30 Run 5-9 miles/Stretch

Monday/Wednesdays were usually our easy mileage days so I would run typically anywhere from 4 to 9 miles.  I ran the amount that I needed so I would hit my goal mileage of around 40-45 miles/week. Some days we lifted weights or did body weight exercises.  We even had a few body weight circuits in the field house. I would also add  15 minutes of planks/different ab exercises once I got back to my dorm room.

 

5:30-6:00 Dinner

I would have the opposite of what I had for lunch; if I had egg whites I would have chicken and if I had rice I would have pasta.  I still had vegetables though, usually the steam-able bags. And I always have sweet potatoes, I just think they’re really delicious!

 

6:00-9:00 Homework/Snack

I would try to get the rest of my homework/studying done during this time and have a fruit smoothie as a snack.

 

9:30 Shower

 

9:30-10:30 Relax/Read/Watch TV

I like to have time to relax so I would usually read a book or watch a TV show/movie on Netflix.

 

10:30 Sleep

 

I hope you enjoyed reading about the day in the life of a cross country runner!

Leave a Reply

