Day in Life of Half Marathoner in College

I have been so busy studying for my exams that I did not have time to put up my blog posts for this week, sorry about that! I only have my exercise physiology exam and lab report left though and then I will be done with my freshmen year of college!

I have been busy training for my next half marathon (Cellcom in Green Bay, WI) throughout this semester. Here is a look into a typical Thursday of my spring semester while I am busy with class and training.

6:40 Wake up

I get up around this time to get ready for my 8:00am class and have a big breakfast.

 

6:40-7:00 Get ready

Getting ready is fast for me in the morning because I shower at night.

 

7:00-7:30 Breakfast

Breakfast is usually buckwheat waffles that I pre-make on the weekend at home and I add peanut butter, applesauce, and sliced bananas.  I also have a glass of almond milk. Breakfast always takes longer than getting ready for me, I just love my waffles! 🙂

 

7:45 Leave for class

It only takes me around 5 minutes to walk to any class but I like to get to class early.

 

8:00-9:50 Class

I have my freshmen Writing class at this time. This class and my professor inspired me to start this blog!

 

10:00-11:30 Exercise Physiology lab

This lab is really interesting! We have done lactate testing on subjects on exercise bikes, practiced taking blood pressure, and have seen VO2 max tests.

 

11:30-12:00 Lunch

For lunch I usually have egg whites or chicken with brown rice or whole wheat pasta and veggies. And of course red pepper hummus!

 

12:30-1:30 Homework

I usually use this time to do a little bit of homework before my workout.

 

1:30-3:45 Run/abs/stretch/shower

Tuesdays and Thursdays are my speed days. My workouts have ranged from 6-8 mile tempo runs to 12 400s.  My speed workouts typically range from 6 to 8 miles.  Sometimes I will do a 15 min ab workout after my workout but usually I save my ab workouts for after my easy runs.

 

4:00-5:00 Dinner/watch the Ellen Show

I have always eaten dinner early so I eat dinner at 4:00 and watch the Ellen Show—which I love! I will usually start some homework too once I am done eating.

 

5:00-5:45 Homework

I try to get a little bit of homework done before lab.

 

6:00-8:00 Chemistry lab

I was nervous to sign up for a night lab at the beginning of the semester but I actually enjoy it! Lab usually gets out early so that is really nice.

 

8:00-9:30 Homework

I usually go to the library after lab to get some homework done; sometimes I meet up with some of my friends to study together.

 

9:45-11:00 Relax/watch TV/read

I like to have a lot of relaxing time at night to relax and read. I was reading a book a week beginning in January but I am a little behind on my reading now with all of my exams.

 

11:00 Sleep

I have been trying to go to bed earlier but recently it has been around 11:00-11:30.

 

 

I hope you enjoyed reading about a day in my life! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

