Cellcom Half Marathon Race Recap

I ran my second half marathon a few weeks ago in Green Bay, WI. The Cellcom Half Marathon had a great course that was pretty flat and even went through Lambeau Field! The race didn’t go exactly as I had planned but I still got a good finish time.

The race started at 8:00am so I got up early-around 5:30am and had breakfast right away.  I had buckwheat waffles with applesauce, a banana, and a little bit of peanut butter. I wanted to make sure that I was fueled for the race. I then got ready, used my roller, and stretched in the hotel room. My family and I left around 6:45 to go to the start of the race which was at Lambeau Field.

I warmed up for the race mainly by walking there and on a short jog back from the bathrooms. I then made my way to the corral around 7:50 and weaved through the crowd to get closer to the front.

Then the race started and I felt great.  My main goal for the race was 1:24:59 but my second goal was to PR so under 1:28:06. The pace for a 1:24:59 was a 6:28 so I started around that pace for the first few miles. It was a fast start though so I actually started a little faster and ran a 6:24, 6:23, and 6:21 for the first three miles and I felt great.

I started to get a little tired around mile 4 and 5 and my pace went to 6:30 and 6:41 for those miles.  I reassured myself that I could still get a PR even though I was not on pace for my first goal.

Mile 6 and 7 is where the race felt really rough. I ran 6:53 and 7:05 for those two miles and it felt like I couldn’t lift up my legs.  I took my gel between mile 6 and 7.  Mile 8 was also tough and I ran a 7:18.

I was feeling a little better mile 9 and I ran a 6:53.  The rest of the race I was just looking forward to the finish.  I ran 7:14, 7:15, and 7:29 for miles 10-12. My last mile was 7:00 and had great views.  I got to run through Lambeau Field.  The stadium is huge and there were so many people cheering which was really great!

I then went on to finish with a time of 1:31:12. I was disappointed because i didn’t get a PR but I was happy that I finished with that time when I felt so tired during the race. I was also happy that I still reached one of my goals of first in my age group.

Overall recap:

1:31:12

6:57/mi (6:24, 6:23, 6:21, 6:30, 6:41, 6:53, 7:05, 7:18, 6:53, 7:14, 7:15, 7:29, 7:00)

 

 

2 thoughts on “Cellcom Half Marathon Race Recap

Leave a Reply

