New Berlin 5k Race Recap

I hope everyone had a great 4th of July! Since my family stayed at home for this 4th of July weekend I decided that I would run a 5k. The 5k I picked was in New Berlin, WI.

I woke up at 5:00am and ate my buckwheat waffles right away. I got ready for the race and then left the house around 6:00. I was one of the first ones at packet pick up since my mom and I got there around 6:45 but it was nice to be early! We sat on bleachers for a little while then I went for a mile warm up around 7:15. I then did my active warm up, stretched, and headed toward the starting line. I was starting to get nervous but then the race started and my nerves faded away.

My plan for the race was to start off at 5:45 pace because my big goal was to run under 18:00. I ended up running 5:47 for the first mile which I was really happy with.

There were a few hills in the next two miles and I ran 6:12 and 6:13. I really wanted under 18:00 but my main goal was to be under 19:00.

I ended with a time of 18:11 but the course was short-3 miles instead of 3.1 miles. So my time should have been around 18:50 which I am still very happy with after being a month into my cross country preseason training.

Overall, I really liked the course, we ran through a residential area and there was some shade along the course too! The few hills were a little tough and I was a little disappointed that the race wasn’t the full 3.1 miles.

It was nice to run a 5k again because the race went by really fast compared to the half marathon.

I was also able to achieve my goals of 1st for women and 1st for my age group.

13603717_10154285044428407_6511206457887163467_o
What did you do for the 4th of July? Do you have any races coming up this summer? 

Leave a Reply

